Flash Fiction: 200 word madness!

Me, normally.

Here’s something new! I rarely post up fiction on my blog but this was something that piqued my interest.

Over at Rach Writes there is a contest (of sorts) running where you write an upto 200 word story fitting specific guidelines for opening and closing words and a few suggested guidelines to make it more challenging.

Well it’s been a bit since I sat down with short fiction and I kind of miss it so motivation hit and the result sits before you further down in this post. I think I’m already past the due date to be eligible to win anything but I was motivated to write it all the same and am sharing it here in the hopes that someone will like it or hate it enough to drop a word about what exactly it was that brought that feeling out!

Plus it’s got me writing short fiction again in a way so I guess I should be thankful for that and start writing more of them.

And yes, I use a lot of Calvin and Hobbes strips and such but can you blame me? They are in many ways the sum of all real wisdom in this intellectually bankrupt world we live in now. But that’s a debate for another time! Anyway, hope you like this pretty much maiden attempt at flash-fiction. Cheers!

Carry Me Home

 

Shadows crept across the wall of my mind as I stood on the ocean’s edge, watching the fiery sunset fade toward darkness.

As crippling bolts of pain shot through my left whole body from my wounds and the exertion I could hear the crash as some part or the other of the once stately mansion behind me caved in from what was by now surely a blazing orange and yellow inferno within it – eclipsed completely by the display in the sky above it all.

I could feel by body begin to fail me as my lifeblood slowly flowed and at my feet returned to the earth from which it came and I felt a strange sense of peace and calm as I saw a small dark speck flying away from me into the sunset.

They were safe and soon would be far and away. The monsters were no more.

I dragged my legs forward and slipped into the still-warm tropical water and soon was borne on gentle wave after wave. As I let mother ocean carry me home I looked up and was soon lost in the

sun’s death throes and as my life ebbed from me, everything faded…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. TheOthers1 says:

    I liked how this sounded. Almost poetic.

    PS: Calvin and Hobbes is legit! 🙂

    1. Spider42 says:

      Thank you so much! Having never tried flash-fiction before was not sure how it would come across.
      Cheers!

  2. Word smith says:

    What can I say? It’s a start. This is more observation than fiction right now Usually, it’s the story you could develop further. I like flash fiction. It’s something that develops in the reafer’s mind later at its own pace 🙂 I want to read more from you.

    1. Spider42 says:

      Well I always figured the purpose of flash fiction was to give you a burst of something engaging without any real backstory and much apart from enough context to just enjoy the moment for what it is and that was my approach to this – after that as you said it develops in the readers mind.
      Will try and post more fiction like this up but I find that without much feedback I feel down whenever I’ve posted my stories in the past so now stick to all the other stuff (which is quite a bit actually! :D)
      Thanks for the input and for dropping by, always appreciate your thoughts though its been a bit.
      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

