Writing prompts for everyone! (from within my neurons)

I’m trying out something new here, writing prompts that are basically a set of the first few random things that came out of my head as I looked at the screen.

This exercise in turn was prompted by InMon whose writing prompts I’ve used to inform/incorporate into my short stories here from time to time and this is a nice little reversal. But I’ll just quote them instead of explaining it:

This month’s InMon assignment (and I don’t know if we’ll continue this, but let’s see where it goes), is to make our own lists. Reach back and find the things that frightened and fascinated us as children. Moments we loved and hated. Things that shocked us, stayed with us. Books and cartoons we were obsessed with, and were embarrassed to be obsessed with. We’ll keep each item as simple, short and evocative as the phrases above.

Post your list on your blog at the end of the month, and please leave me a link in the comments of this post. I’ll be trying the exercise along with you. Perhaps each list will only mean something to the person who created it. But I’m curious to see if the same words are evocative for the rest of us, maybe for different reasons.

The following month, we’ll each choose prompts from our own lists and write something. I’ll hash out the details as we get to them.

And so without any further to-do or faffing around, here’s my list of randomness! If you happen to have stumbled through here and any of them strikes a chord that inspires a flash-fiction piece, a poem, a short story, a limerick or a joke even – feel free to go right ahead and write it and share a link here if you do.

Eclectic

A Ukelele

Constant Change

The Unspoken

The Unwritten

Dork side of the moon

Caveat Emptor

Demonic selves

Fragile eggshell mind

Ghosts in the machine

Curious to see where this little exercise goes over at InMon but I’m definitely looking forward to picking one of the above at random in the near future and throwing out a short story or two in the process! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by and cheers as always!


 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Cara Thereon says:

    I love a good prompt. I may give it a go. 😊

    1. Aku says:

      Awesome! If you decide to, I look forward to reading it. I still hold out hope that you might pick up that one story I wrote that ended with the start of a lusty encounter on the horizon and you had expressed interest in picking up that thread. 🙂

      1. Cara Thereon says:

        Ah! I remember that story. Can you link me the story again to read? No promises obviously but I’m in the groove of NaNo so I may be able to bang it out (no pun intended)

      2. Aku says:

        Here you go my dear:
        https://anansisweb.wordpress.com/2016/06/30/shorty-story-untitled-midweek-mental-meandering/

        And also here’s another that I think might be one you’d enjoy or find of interest at least:
        https://anansisweb.wordpress.com/2015/08/21/short-story-castles-in-the-air/

        Glad you’re enjoying NaNo so much, I’m terribly lazy about it and folks like yourself who actual try and do the lot make me want to get off my own butt and try harder 😀
        Cheers.

  2. Stephanie says:

    OK, “Dork side of the moon” may be my favorite phrase ever. Great list!

    1. Aku says:

      Thank you!! 🙂

Leave a comment